HTML or XHTML and CSS

That’s the reason I am going back to school again.  I took some online a while ago using simple HTML. It worked in the class, but then when I agree to working on a community project, turned out that I have no clue about it at all. I guest you could say the same about xhtml.  In most articles and sites I read that convinces that XHTML really only offers two major advantages — to a document author — which aren’t available in HTML: the ability to mix in content from other markup languages more or less seamlessly (via XMLnamespaces), and the ability to use standard XML tools to work with your documents. Anne’s websblog stated that Xhtml is more suitable for the web. In the Anne’s weblogs also mentioned that what is most clear to most people that HTML consisted “of superfluous TABLE and FONT elements and that for XHTML you needed to use CSS which can be cached and therefore saves bandwidth”.  However, the articles at Lachy’s web blog stated that XHTML is not for beginner. I kind of agree with that, for being very little understand what is HTML, XHTML is a blank canvas for me.  There is blog by Robert Nyman offers good articles regarding this subject which sugested that choosing HTML or XHTML is depending what you needs and what you want to accomplish. I think I won’t fully understand until I am really is trying to understands both HTML and XHTML and fully put them into practice.

As for CSS, as what I found in my reading is, I understand that CSS gives more control over the appearance of a Web page to the page creator than to the browser designer or the viewer. Basicly this is the advance of HTML which have advntage like:   Separation of content ,design and efficient control over large document sets, and CSS supports more formatting option than plain HTML tags.The most powerful implementaions of CSS will allow site designers to control the graphics and of thousands of pages by modifying a single master style sheet document.  I think when I relate to this I have to say just like you have a master page in layout program like adobe in design or Quark X-press.

Sites I read and visited:

http://www.b-list.org/weblog/2008/jun/18/html/

http://www.alistapart.com/articles/betterliving

http://infogridpacific.typepad.com/publishing_with_xml/2008/12/xml-and-xhtml.html

http://me.mywebsight.ws/2007/05/15/xhtml-2-and-html-5-who-will-win/

The Ultimate HTML Reference, by  Ian Lloyd

http://searchsoa.techtarget.com/sDefinition/0,,sid26_gci211749,00.html

http://people.engr.ncsu.edu/jthurtea/articles/2006/csslayout.html

6 Responses to “HTML or XHTML and CSS”

  1. Pilar egusquiza Says:

    Your sources are very interesting. But I think that point of make an effort to follow standards is because we are doing efficient web pages. Could happen that Web browsers and computers don’t all display Web pages in the same way. As a result, a page that looks great in one browser can be completely illegible in another. For example, in my article I mentioned about the importance that a well designed page is for impaired people.

  2. I didn’t know CSS could be cached… your blog is very informative! I never even really noticed when XHTML came into the picture. I stopped designing for a good while and it wasn’t until recently that I even heard the term. XML integration still throws me off a bit but I don see how it benefits it.

  3. I dont agree with Pilar there is no issue with the browser talking to the pc when it comes to displaying stuff the only issue that i might see there is that the browser itself is missing stuff that might not show what is to be shown so you have to go back & reinstall it. As to the coding i think xtml is way better then what he had before i know how it was when you wrote basic html & trying to get it to work on other version of browsers it was a pain cant wait until i get into the xhtml.

  4. Im back in school for the same thing. And yes xhtml is not for beginners heck the definition confuses me . Now what exactly are XML tools? This is the second time i’ve read about XML tools. Css is like in design or quark. as far as layout.

  5. Actually, Pilar is right, but I think you might have misunderstood him mariam. Pages do display differently on different browsers, even if they follow standards carefully, there is almost always some small detail that one browser will display differently than another, and you’ll almost never get a pixel perfect match.

    Whether pages are coded to standards or not, they won’t affect the need to reinstall the browser on the pc… the “pc and browser” don’t really talk to eachother, the browser is just software that runs on the pc, and yes, if the browsers program files have been corrupted it could need to be reinstall but that’s really independent of the whole discussion of standards that I think Pilar was getting at.

    I disagree with Pilar though about a “well design page is designed for impaired people,” I think a well design page is designed to reach as many people as possible without compromising that design, will being made accessible to as many others as it can. That doesn’t mean it can’t be made accessible to impaired people, but that’s like saying a building should be designed “for” impaired people with.. imagine what a building designed only for impaired people would look like. There’s quite a gap between designing for a group, and making a design accessible for a group, and I think while accessibility is important, the majority should still take priority.

  6. For now, HTML serves me well. I’m able to make my site look fine in all browsers for the most part but I will probably start implementing some sort of XHTML into practice.

    Recently, I created my website layout (on my personal site) fully using CSS, the only images are the header and the background but the container and full site is just CSS, pretty cool. 🙂

Leave a Reply

